Kentucky Marching Network
Sign in to follow this  
BenL

Recruitment Ideas

I don't want this post to come off as a rant complaining. However, I am stumped and need ideas. 

I am the band director at Thomas Nelson High School in Bardstown(Nelson Co School District). This is my 2nd year. From 2018-2019 school year to when I was hired last year, the band lost a significant amount of members. The marching band went from 25-30 down to 12 and the concert band went from about 50 down to 36. Last year, I made due with 12 members. We competed in MSBA class A and we were never last at any contest. We were gearing up for a great concert assessment program and I had more interest in marching band this year. Because of COVID, our recruiting trips were canceled. But in terms of marching band, we had 12 kids show up to camp. Since then I have picked up about 4 or 5 kids. And I have had 2 kids quit so far. In terms of concert band I graduated 7. I lost an additional 9 or 10 due to co-op schedule conflicts or because director turn over. Most of my seniors this year aren't enrolled due to co-oping, my sophomores and juniors that didn't return were for various reasons.